50 First Jokes 2011: A January Tradition

The 5th annual 50 First Jokeswill be at 92Y Tribeca this year, on Wednesday, January 5, 2011.

The concept is simple: Get 50 comics in a room to tell the first jokes they’ve written in the new year. The result is brilliant because of the talent assembled by co-producers Claudia Cogan & John F. O’Donnell. You will see a dizzying array of up and coming comics from the New York underground comedy scene and writers from late-night television.

John F. O’Donnell, Jiwon Lee and Claudia Cogan
50 First Jokes 2010. (photo by Paul Katcher)

The room is supportive, as people realize they are witnessing a rehearsal, of sorts. The audience gets to be in on the ground floor of the joke-writing process. It’s like seeing a spring training baseball game: some of the material may get cut from the team, but the gems will be polished by the time they go off to the majors.

Jon Friedman at last year’s “50 First Jokes”. photo by Paul Katcher

Wednesday, January 5, 2011
50 First Jokes
Presented by Claudia Cogan & John F. O’Donnell
$12 admission
doors open 7:30pm, showtime 8pm
92Y Tribeca
200 Hudson St.
(between Canal St. & Vestry St.)
New York, NY

Want to save 2 bucks? Use the code FJ10 for $2 off per ticket when purchasing on-line: 92y.org

See our write-up of last year’s show:

This year’s roster of comics scheduled to perform includes:
Adira Amram
David Angelo
Vince Averill
Nate Bargatze
Kevin Barnett
Greg Barris
Erik Bergstrom
Kurt Braunohler
Claudia Cogan
David Cope
Robert Dean
Lisa Delarios
Joe DeRosa
Pat Dixon
Sean Donnelly
Ophira Eisenberg
John F. O’Donnell
Myka Fox
Jena Friedman
Jon Friedman
Nikki Glaser
George Gordon
Roger Hailes
Rondel Hartley
Calise Hawkins
Myq Kaplan
Mike Lawrence
Annie Lederman
Damien Lemon
Ben Lerman
Jared Logan
Carmen Lynch
Nick Maritato
Matt McCarthy
Kurt Metzger
Scott Moran
Mark Normand
Sean O’Connor
Yannis Pappas

Sean Patton
Jesse Popp
Mike Recine
Andrea Rosen
Dave Rosinsky
Giulia Rozzi
Matt Ruby
Jason Saenz
Sara Schaefer
Amy Schumer
Dan Soder
Danny Solomon
Neal Stastny
Brent Sullivan
Team Submarine
Nick Turner
Brooke Van Poppelen
Victor Varnado

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.